Welcome to the RA gsatermo
Traveling on Arizona
streets or highways
If you are operating an ATV on a street or highway it must be
registered and insured.
You must observe and obey all traffic laws and regulations.
You must have a class M license for a three-wheel ATV and a
class D license for a four-wheel ATV.
Registration and proof of insurance must be with the ATV.
All persons on an ATV must wear eye protection.
Persons, under the age of 18, must wear a helmet on an ATV.
A driver may not carry a passenger on an ATV designed for one person.
Also, don't forget about the required equipment to make an ATV street legal.
Equipment needed for registration
In order to get an ATV registered in Arizona it must have the following equipment:
At least one brake that can be operated by hand or foot.
At least one, but not more than two, headlights that shine at least 500 feet ahead.
At least one taillight visible for at least 500 feet to the rear.
At least one red rear reflector, if not part of the taillight.
License plate securely fastened to the rear of the ATV.
License plate light.
Horn audible from a distance of at least 200 feet.
Muffler in good working order and in constant operation. Muffler cutout, bypass or similar device prohibited.
Seat and footrests for the operator.
Fuel tank cap.
If you live in the Phoenix or Tucson metro areas you may also need to have your ATV emissions tested.
Arizona traffic laws that apply to ATVS
The following tip is an overview of Arizona traffic laws found in Arizona Revised Statues, Title 28.
Title 28 contains all traffic laws of the state, and this overview highlights those which are applicable to ATVs.
This overview should not be considered legal advice. It is intended to be used as a reference guide so you can be informed of applicable laws. After each section, I have included a brief sentence that tells what the section addresses.
You can access the complete text of each statute by going to the following website:
28-101.3 Defines an "all terrain vehicle".
28-101.13 Defines a "county highway".
28-101.18 Defines a "driver".
28-101.26 Defines "local authority".
28-101.30 Defines a "motor vehicle".
28-101.35 Defines an "off-road recreational vehicle".
28-101.47 Defines a "state highway".
28-101.48 Defines a "state route".
28-101.49 Defines a "street" or "highway".
Driver/Operator License requirements
28-3151.A Requires operators to have a license and proper endorsement. Note: A quad doesn't require a motorcycle endorsement, a three wheeler does.
28-3169.A Drivers must have their license in possession when operating.
28-1595 Operators must stop for police when instructed and produce evidence of identity. This is a criminal offense and failure to comply with this section can get you arrested.
28-2153 Vehicles operated on highways are required to be registered. Subsection D lists exemptions to registration requirements and D.9 addresses ATVs operated on dirt roads in unincorporated areas. This exemption causes much debate as to wether registation is required in some areas.
28-2354 Explains display requirements for license plates.
28-2512 Explains "RV" plate rules. Note: "RV" are basically good for vehicle identification and nothing else. They are not valid for highway use.
28-2532 This section is the one you'll be cited for if you're operating on a road where plates are required.
Financial Responsibility (Insurance)
28-4135 This section explains financial responsibility requirements for vehicles. If you operate on a road where license plates are required, liability insurance is also required.
28-892 This is the only equipment section that specifically addresses ATVs. It says that you can't carry a passenger unless the ATV was designed for a passenger.